New Year’s Resolution: Read more small books

I started this resolution actually during Christmas when I decided to read A Franciscan Christmas. I found the book to be simple, profound, and short. It was great for someone who hardly makes time to read!

Now I decided that if I was going to read more in this year, I needed to focus on reading short stories, or short books. Because some reading is much much better than no reading. Don’t get me wrong, I do read interesting articles passed on to me or something I might have come across. I will share those articles with all of you as well.

In the meantime, below is my review of another great small book that I reviewed on the awesome “goodreads” community.

Jesus and Mary: Finding Our Secret CenterJesus and Mary: Finding Our Secret Center by Henri J.M. Nouwen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book is beautiful in its simplicity. There are two parts of this small book, the first being a sermon to priests on retreat…but the material is good food for thought for everyone who wants to deepen their relationship with Mary, Mother of God.

The second part is about Nouwen’s trip to Lourdes. It was great to walk with the author in his simple thought process. It was a short but very meaningful journey. I think it’s relatable if you have ever struggled with vocation(i.e. what you feel called to by God), feeling loved by God, or really felt a need for peace in your life.

It’s a book worth your slow reading, or during meditation.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

