For Lent: Giving Up…”the World”

There is a common sticker motto I’ve seen around Orange County, CA: “Not of This World.”  It’s so darn common that I almost want to believe it’s a name of a church.

It made me think: am I part of the world or not of the world?  This is the question everyone asks especially during Lent.

I’ve listed the link in this post to a VERY fascinating blog entry in response to a book that speaks about purity and the lack of purity in our society.  You don’t have to be of a “prudish mentality” to ponder such an issue.  Just ask basic questions: What types of books sold the most in the year?  What type of clothing does a department store offer the most to its teens shoppers?  What are the lyrics of the most popular songs?

Purity is far from promoting asexuality.  Purity is knowing the beauty and strength of a healthy understanding of sexuality.

There was one part of the blog I related to the most: what type of music do I listen to?  Recently I was in the car with young children, the youngest being 3 and the oldest being 11.  I wanted some upbeat music, so I requested that the kids play my “groovy” playlist.  Up comes a song where a line in the chorus said, “I will have your clothes off by the end of this song.”  And it said that phrase a few times!  But to all the kids it didn’t really seem to bother them.  In fact, they actually chose the song because they knew it!

What can I do?  Stop the song and then play it later when they are not around?  What does that say about my values?  I LOVE THE BEAT AND THE RHYTHM.  Right.  There is beauty to that.  But it’s the same argument some men make who say they like strip clubs because there they see some great dancing with beautiful women.  “There’s a craft to it,” and I agree with them.  But there’s a craft to anything whether it’s making a great cigar, a great alcoholic beverage, and exotic dancing.  Does it mean that it’s a thing that promotes purity?

So, for Lent, I decided I would be very conscious of the songs I play and movies I watch.  It’s hard, and it will be harder to even delete songs that are far from purity.  But, am I called to be of this world? Or live in it and not be of it?

That’s a higher calling of virtue for all of us to ponder.

CSD Book Club – Blog Entry.

It’s interesting to see what grabs our imagination.

3 thoughts on “For Lent: Giving Up…”the World”

  1. worldhopsrevivalprophetic

    Greetings friend, I’m Melissa Crawford and I appreciate the prophecy that I found on your webpage. My husband wanted me to invite you to share with our live video streaming e-revival audience as soon as possible. At Spirit University he is training a team of prophetic students and we are all receiving end time visions, dreams and words like yours. One of our students has been seeing fireballs falling from Heaven and as you know, one actually fell on Russia.

    Many other prophetic signs are being confirmed at our e-Revival.

    Everyone receives a prophetic word by my husband James Crawford; if they request one and we have an e-Revival every day! We would love to have you or anybody else’s prophecies shared at God’s revival!

    Times you can call in to share:
    Mon – Fri at 10:45 am & 7 pm (central)
    Sat. at 4 pm (central)
    Sun. at 11 am (central)

    Feel free to call our cell at (318) 655-2297 or email james@world-hops.com for more information.

    Keep up the good work and God bless you.

    Reply
    1. Gilbert Marquez Jr. Post author

      Hi Melissa and James! Actually, I’m not sure I would agree with the type of prophecy you are advocating. I firmly believe we are called to be prophets of peace, that we are called to announce redemption through the forgiveness of sins because of Christ’s gift to the world. But whether the world is going to end in 1 year, 1 hour, or in 1000 years is not for us to know. Reading Revelation according to John has always been more about God announcing that there will be trial and tribulations, and that this world is passing, yet those who wish to believe in Jesus will be saved and the current world as we know it will be redeemed. It was never about trying to give us clues to predicting when the end time will come. As of matter of fact, we need to announce peace NOW least our OWN End time/death comes upon us when we haven’t offered forgiveness and peace to those who have hurt us. An “unfinished life” in which there was still a need for reconciliation is one of the worst deaths anyone can have.

      May you always preach God’s word of peace and reconciliation. May you be prophets preparing the way of the Lord, giving knowledge not of apocalyptic revelations but of the gift of salvation through the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. Amen. Allelulia!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

